About Us


    On December 11, 1970, fifteen (15) employees of the Appalachian Regional Hospital Association (ARH) filed an application for a federal credit union charter under the direction of Colonel George Murphy, administrator of the Middlesboro ARH Hospital in Middlesboro, Kentucky. The ARH Employees Federal Credit Union was approved on January 4th, 1971 by the National Credit Union Administration. All federal credit unions are “non-profit” financial organizations.

    The volunteers organized the Credit Union into two principle bodies. They are (1) A Board of Directors to govern the overall direction and operation of credit union affairs. (2) A Supervisory Committee to audit the credit union records and to verify policies and procedures comply with federal regulations. Members for the Board of Directors are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors appoints members of the Supervisory Committee. These functions are performed by board and supervisory committee without compensation. The Charter Members of the ARH Federal Credit Union were:

    Donald Andrews, Ken Buhler, Lena Adkins, Clyde Craft
    Jerry Frost, Okey D. Berrins, Clyde Goins, David Howard
    Janice S. Dempsey, William Leutzinger, Helen Mounts, John Hopkins, William Thomas, Pat Marcum and George E. Murphy

    During the 70s, ARH Federal Credit Union conducted business from a small office in the Middlesboro ARH Hospital. The office was open four hours a day, five days a week. Ken Buhler served as manager with a staff of one. It’s difficult to believe that we have grown from those humble beginnings into a multi-million dollar credit union, serving members in Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

    Our primary (core) memberships are employees, doctors, medical staff and technicians of Appalachian Regional Hospitals and related medical affiliates who work in Kentucky, Virginia and West Virginia. Our second major group are “Select Employee Groups" employees(currently over 80) ranging from city employees, mining employees, various small businesses and manufacturing employees who work in the south eastern portion of Kentucky. Our third major group includes anyone who lives, works, worships or goes to school in Bell county.  Also, spouses of persons who died while within the field of membership; employees of this credit union; persons retired as pensioners or annuitants; members of their immediate families (parents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, grandparents, etc.) and organizations of such persons.

    We offer a variety of financial products and services with competitive rates on similar products available at other types of financial institutions.

    If you or your business would like to join our credit union family, please call regarding your eligibility.

    Mission Statement: Our Goal is to provide our members with Efficient, Quality Financial Services and Policies that will treat ALL Members Fairly.

    2013Board of Directors:
    Chairperson/Secretary: Charlie Daniels
    V. Chariperson:  Shawn Collins
    Treasurer: David Wilhoit
    Secretary: Vickie Allen
    Director: Linda Cupp
    Director: Donnie Sparks

    Director: Ann "Kaki" Smith


Supervisory Committee:
Chairperson: Shelley McMlelland

Members: Mike Justice and Donnie Sparks

Credit Union Staff :

CEO: Kim Helton

ASSISTANT MANAGER: Miranda Middleton










[ Home | Internet Teller | Rates | Products | Services | Online Services | About Us | Contact Us | Buy/Sell ]

Privacy Policy
Design & Hosting by Harland Financial Solutions, Inc.
Browser Requirements
Copyright D+H All Rights Reserved.
Equal Housing Lender Logo